Turing
- Payout
- Not stated
- Paid via
- Not stated
- Accepts
- Applicants worldwide
How it works
Turing was founded in 2018 by Jonathan Siddharth and started as a platform for hiring remote software developers. TechCrunch reported in March 2025 that it changed course after OpenAI approached it in 2022, and that it now supplies coding and reasoning data to OpenAI, other model makers and enterprises; the same report covered a $111 million Series E at a $2.2 billion valuation. Turing describes its business as AGI advancement through data and research, enterprise AI systems, and connecting engineering talent to frontier AI companies. Its homepage names Anthropic, Gemini and Nvidia and claims talent in more than 140 countries.
Turing AI training jobs fall into three groups on its jobs page: software developers, data scientists and engineers, and domain experts such as PhDs and specialists. The process Turing publishes has four steps: build a profile with your work history, skills and rate; get matched; take skill tests and live interviews; start. Its help centre adds that some roles require proctored assessments with full screen sharing (no VPN or incognito mode), that some include a live interview with Turing or a vendor partner, and that reviews take anywhere from 48 hours to six weeks. If you are rejected you wait three months before reapplying.
The coding roles are the core of the work. Turing's Python LLM trainer page asks for three or more years as a developer, three tests (a seniority assessment, a tech stack test and a live coding challenge), and describes contracts of up to three months, extendable month by month to a maximum of ten continuous months. Domain roles look different: a capital markets role we read asked for rubric writing and evaluation of model output at 10 to 30 hours a week for about a month.
Worth knowing
Good:
- Turing is large and funded, and TechCrunch reported it had been profitable for about a year at the time of its Series E
- Roles are specified up front: hours, overlap with US time zones, contract length and assessment format are usually on the listing
- Domain experts, not only developers, can apply, and the one domain listing we found with a rate advertised around $100 an hour or more
Less good:
- Most listings publish no rate, and Turing publishes no platform-wide pay range, so you often learn the rate only once matched
- Some listings are open only in named countries; one LLM agentic trainer role we read was limited to ten countries, so check eligibility per role
- Contracts are short and capped, with no medical or paid leave, per Turing's own listing
- Reviewers on Trustpilot (2.5 out of 5 from about 200 reviews when we checked) describe identity verification failing despite valid documents, regular emails but no matched work, and one reviewer in November 2025 said a blocked Deel account left payment stuck for weeks
About this page
Facts above come from Turing's homepage, jobs page, help centre article on applying, its Series E announcement and individual listings on work.turing.com, last checked 29 September 2026, with company history from TechCrunch. Turing's homepage claims a Trustpilot rating well above the one Trustpilot showed us; we have reported what Trustpilot displayed. We found no current Turing page stating how or how often contractors are paid, so the payout and payment fields are empty; the Deel mention is one worker's account, not a Turing statement. We could not read Glassdoor, Indeed or Reddit.
For comparable roles on this site, see software and IT jobs and engineering jobs.
No open roles at Turing right now
Turing has nothing open right now
Platforms reopen applications regularly, so check back. Until then, you can compare the other platforms we track.
Compare platformsCompare before you sign up
See what the other platforms pay and who they accept.